Finalists announced for the first-ever Australian CFO Awards!

CFO Magazine is delighted to announce the 2022 finalists for the Australian CFO Awards, including finance leaders from Employment Hero, Seven Group, Stone & Wood, Pet Circle and American Express.

The inaugural Australian CFO Awards, recognise the unsung Chief Financial Officers, Financial Controllers, rising stars and finance teams and set the industry standard for excellence.

Adriana Amato, Australian CFO Community Co-founder, said: “Our warmest congratulations to this impressive group of finalists who have risen to the top in hotly-contested categories in a big year for finance leadership. The work they do behind the scenes to enable their stakeholders keeps businesses humming, and these awards aim to shine a light on an often underappreciated profession. We look forward to celebrating the winners in Sydney on November 30.”

Winners will be selected by a panel of peers and company executives on the basis of merit and finance leadership excellence. The Australian CFO Community encourages a diversity of entries from across Australia. We received over 1,200 nominations this year.

The panel is made up of a number of high-profile and accomplished finance and business leaders, including Racheal Kellaway (Group Chief Financial Officer, Bank of Queensland), Alena Bennett (Finance Leadership Expert and Mentor), Dan Spencer (General Manager, Think & Grow), Dennis Lin (Chairman, ASX-listed company, Bubs Australia), Damon Hauenstein (Chief Financial Officer, Weel) and Rachel Grimes (Chief Financial Officer, Challenger).

Winners for each category will be announced at a gala dinner at Hinchcliff House in Sydney’s Circular Quay on 30 November. Limited tickets are available for purchase.

The event is supported by industry partners CFO Magazine, Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand, Alena Bennett, GoCardless, Eftsure, Mackay Goodwin, Fathom, ezyCollect, National Audits Group, Prime Partners, Finance in Tech, My Accounts, Weel and Think & Grow.

Congratulations to all shortlisted individuals and teams:

CFO of the Year (SME)

Caroline McLuckieBasketball New South Wales

Chris PensabeneStone & Wood Brewing Company

Karina KouroutzoglouAdvanced Buildings and Restorations

Meriem IdrisWomen’s Health West

Sunny JobsonAnimal Logic

CFO of the Year (Enterprise)

Harry SinghAltrad Services APAC

Jenny WoodwardDouglas Partners

Marcus MaranoAmerican Express

Mark WoodhouseJD Sports Australia

Rob PatersonEmployment Hero

Financial Controller of the Year (SME)

Ashwini ShankarNational Accreditation Authority for Translators and Interpreters

Diepen Patel Fleetwood Australia

Honey Delosotna solutions

JK MenonUnited for Care

Roxanne O’SullivanClassic Constructions

Financial Controller of the Year (Enterprise)

Alexandra GoochVoyages Indigenous Tourism Australia

Jaime EasawBaby Bunting

Jamie YoungCulture Amp

Prashant MishraRoyal Australian College of General Practitioners

Siraj KhanNanosonics

Finance Team of the Year (SME)

Bisley & Company

Central Land Council

Housing Trust



Finance Team of the Year (Enterprise)

ACT Education Directorate

Aurecon Group

Seven Group

Most Valuable Finance Team Member (SME)

Chris OngTill Payments

Clinton McMahonuberbrand

Mathew LarkinSuperhero

Nerida BodycoteTaste Creative

Trevor MorganInternational Justice Mission Australia

Most Valuable Finance Team Member (Enterprise)

Jatin Mehajan Bandai Namco Entertainment Australia

Nicola PattersonEntain

Tania Amalen Douglas Partners

Young Achiever of the Year

Alyse McPheeBurger Urge

Camila Saavedra Streamtime

Mark GlendenningStake

Mentor of the Year

Cyril GabrielConvergint

Nan MekaPet Circle