2023 Australian CFO Award Finalists Announced!

The Australian CFO Community, powered by spend management solution, Weel, is delighted to announce the 2023 finalists for the Australian CFO Awards, including finance leaders from Employment Hero, SBS, Oroton Group, University of Canberra and Canva.

The Australian CFO Awards recognise the unsung Chief Financial Officers, Financial Controllers, rising stars and finance teams and set the industry standard for excellence.

Winners will be selected by a panel of peers and company executives on the basis of merit and finance leadership excellence. The Australian CFO Community encourages a diversity of entries from across Australia.

This year’s panel comprises a distinguished assembly of accomplished finance and business leaders, featuring Gillian Larkins, former CFO at ASX; Alena Bennett, CFO Executive Coach; Damon Hauenstein, CFO at Weel; Richard Richards, CFO at Seven Group Holdings; Geoffrey Buchanan, Former Interim CFO at Austal; and Graham Jowett, CFO, OzHarvest.

The winners of each category will be announced at a gala dinner at The Calyx, in Sydney’s Royal Botanic Garden on 3 November. Limited tickets are available for purchase.

The event receives generous support from our esteemed industry sponsors: Weel, PKF, Alena Bennett, Eftsure, National Audits Group, MyAccounts, Valiant, Fathom, Hudled, and Primary.

Congratulations to all shortlisted individuals and teams:

2023 Award Categories & Finalists –       

Finance Team of the Year (Enterprise)                   

Employment Hero

Aurecon Group

ACT Education Directorate


Finance Team of the Year (SME)

Ben Daly – Queensland Airports Limited

Kamy Brar – The Entourage

Sammy Michaels – Octopus Deploy

Betty Ziogas-Chrisafis- Bandai Namco Entertainment Australia Pty. Ltd.

Andrew Mooney – Sheldon Interiors Pty Ltd

Most Valuable Finance Team Member

James Neylon – Seaway

Daisy Diem Phan – Singularity Tech

Emile O’Connell – Bishopp Outdoor Advertising Pty Ltd

Dilshi Gunasekara – Dovetail Research Pty Ltd

Sakshi Chawla – No Standing Pty Ltd

CFO of the Year (Enterprise)       

Damien Singh – Canva

Tony Phan – Smart Cleaning Solutions (Aust) Pty Ltd

Karma Auden – University of Canberra

Andrew Yee – Walkinshaw Group

Ian Turnbull – ACT Education Directorate

CFO of the Year (SME)  

Melissa Marshall – Mad Mex

Cheryl Ling – Jetts Fitness

Natascha Tjendana – Youth Projects

Federico Tata-Nardini – Fleet Space Technologies

Santiago Spada – Pirelli Tyres Australia

CFO of the Year (Start-up)          

Lidia Valenzuela – Bonza Aviation Pty Ltd

David Bicknell – Immutable

Daniel Giles – PayApps

Cyril Gabriel – Academy Xi

Kunwar Aditya Saxena – CIMET

CFO of the Year (Not For Profit)

Beth McIlwain – Windarring

Melanie Lin – Creative Australia

Rob Hall – Housing Trust

Kerri Ryan – RSL Queensland

Louise Johais – Ngala

Financial Controller of the Year 

Rachel Bohr – Experient

Jatin Mahajan – Bandai Namco Entertainment A/NZ

Elise Banks – Oroton Group

Justin Ong – Engage Marine Pty Ltd

Jason Dunlop – Camplify

Young Achiever of the Year        

Joe Orlando – Naked Wines Australia

Matthew Larkin – Superhero

Ludivine Scheidecker – Ofload

Alyse McPhee – BurgerUrge

Tochau  Nguyen – Buildsafe

Winners will be announced at the gala dinner at The Calyx, in Sydney’s Royal Botanic Garden on Friday 3rd November and will be published on CFO Magazine A/NZ.